Q: Something is wrong freaky here.
I m attempts to access anything located in the 127.0.0.1 ad.doubleclick.net redirects me. Im pretty sure this is not suppose to happen, and Im not running any firewall or spyware programs .
Re:that's done on purpose to prevent known ad-aware clients from reporting back to the mothership. It's a good thing..I bet you have lots of entries pointed to the loopback address in the Host file. Below is a small portion of my host file
127.0.0.1 80.80.15.166
127.0.0.1 a1708.g.akamai.net
127.0.0.1 ad.asv.de
127.0.0.1 ad.ca.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 ad.de.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 ad.dk.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 ad.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 ad.es.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 ad.fr.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 ad.free6.com
127.0.0.1 ad.it.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 ad.iwin.com
127.0.0.1 ad.jp.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 ad.kr.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 ad.linkexchange.com
127.0.0.1 ad.linksynergy.com
127.0.0.1 ad.nl.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 ad.no.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 ad.preferences.com
127.0.0.1 ad.se.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 ad.sma.punto.net
127.0.0.1 ad.trafficmp.com
127.0.0.1 ad.uk.doubleclick.net
127.0.0.1 ad.webprovider.com
127.0.0.1 ad08.focalink.com
127.0.0.1 ad1.adcept.net
127.0.0.1 ad1.icorp.net
127.0.0.1 ad1.looksmart.com
127.0.0.1 ad2.adcept.net
127.0.0.1 ad2.looksmart.com
127.0.0.1 ad3.adcept.net
127.0.0.1 ad-adex3.flycast.com
127.0.0.1 adcontent.gamespy.com
127.0.0.1 adcontroller.unicast.com
127.0.0.1 adcreatives.imaginemedia.com
127.0.0.1 addb.looksmart.com
127.0.0.1 adevents.msn.com
127.0.0.1 adex3.flycast.com
127.0.0.1 adforce.ads.imgis.com
127.0.0.1 adforce.imgis.com
127.0.0.1 adfu.blockstackers.com
127.0.0.1 adimage.blm.net
127.0.0.1 adimages.earthweb.com
127.0.0.1 adimages.go.com
127.0.0.1 adimages.imaginemedia.com
127.0.0.1 adimg.egroups.com
127.0.0.1 admedia.xoom.com
127.0.0.1 admonitor.net
127.0.0.1 adpick.switchboard.com
127.0.0.1 adproject.net
127.0.0.1 adremote.pathfinder.com
127.0.0.1 adres.internet.com
127.0.0.1 ads.adflight.com
127.0.0.1 ads.ad-flow.com
127.0.0.1 ads.admaximize.com
Re:guy, yes it's \drivers
This is the full path on my system "\winnt\system32\drivers\etc"
I misspelled =)
Re:check your HOSTS file, its probably been tampered with by some program and its redirecting to your loopback adress
Re:I have spysweeper and norton antivirus installed
running IE 6.0 SP2 w/ google toolbar
spysweeper i only use to scan, i don't have any protection settings on, same with norton antivirus.
edit: there is no \drives\ under system32, are you sure it's not \drivers\?
Re:Do you have an anti-spyware/anti-popup stuff? Some of the popup stopper progs install a "hosts" file that redirects the ad servers to the localhost (127.0.0.1) so you won't see any banner ads and such. I believe the hosts file is in \windows(or winnt)\system32\drives\etc
Re:127.0.0.1 is usually your own computer……
what are you trying to access???? are you going through your temp internet files or something?
0 Comments.